About the City

The City of Westminster operates under a mayor-council form of government. The Mayor is elected to a 4-year term. The Common Council is composed of five members who also are elected to serve four-year terms. The qualified voters of Westminster have voted for 3 members of the Common Council on the 2nd Monday of May since 1967 while the mayor and the remaining two council members have been voted upon the second Monday of May since 1969, and every 4 years thereafter. In 2006, The Mayor and Common Council established the position of City Administrator who serves as the Chief Administrative Officer of the city.